December 2009 Touch Newsletter

Welcome to the thirty-seventh Touch Newsletter. Out now, Oren Ambarchi's "Intermission 2000-2008"; a range of material Oren Ambarchi has contributed to compilations and limited edition vinyl releases between the years 2000 and 2008.

Philip Jeck, BJNilsen and Lawrence English all play at next week's "Atmospheres 3" night, Café Oto, London. Details below. BJNilsen will be previewing tracks from his forthcoming Touch album, "The Invisible City", available on exclusive pre-sale at this gig.

On 23rd January 2010, "Shhoctavoski", the first piece for orchestra that Biosphere, aka Geir Jenssen has composed is given its UK premiere at London's The Roundhouse. Details below...

Some of Biosphere's earliest recordings (under the artist name E-Man) are the subject of one of The Tapeworm's four new tapes. The other three: Souls on Board featuring Wire's Bruce Gilbert and Daniel Menche, anti-folk/noise trio Baraclough and Meltaot (Savage Pencil and Sharon Gal.)

Finally, a TouchShop reminder - UK VAT rates increase from 15% to 17.5% on 1 January 2010. So bear in mind it is slightly cheaper to buy this month, rather than in the new year...

Touch on Twitter

Touch now has an official Twitter account. From there, we will be updating you with info on new editions in the TouchShop, TouchRadio broadcasts, and more... Follow us @touchmusic

Tone 40 - Oren Ambarchi "Intermission 2000-2008"

CD album in Digipak
Artwork & design: Jon Wozencroft

Track listing:
1. Intimidator
2. Iron Waves
3. Moving Violation
4. The Strouhal Number
5. A Final Kiss On Poisoned Cheeks

Intermission brings together a range of material Oren Ambarchi has contributed to compilations and limited edition vinyl releases between the years 2000 and 2008. Highlights include two live recordings - an early, fragile solo guitar recording taken from a radio broadcast in 2000 and A Final Kiss On Poisoned Cheeks, his powerful 12" recorded live in Vancouver in 2007 and originally released on Table Of The Elements. Additional tracks include Iron Waves an exclusive track in collaboration with vocalist Paul Duncan and Intimidator featuring Australian pianist/composer Anthony Pateras originally released on Southern Lord.

These are special anomalies in the Ambarchi canon but nonetheless feature the hallmarks of his unique soundworld, all underpinned by his trademark deep guitar tones and meticulous attention to detail. All tracks are newly remastered, many of which are available on CD for first time.

Buy Intermission 2000-2008 in the TouchShop

07.12.09 | Atmospheres 3

8-11PM - Monday 07.12.09
at Café Oto - London E8 3DL

In performance: Philip Jeck, BJNilsen, Lawrence English

BJNilsen will be premiering tracks from his forthcoming album, "The Invisible City", which will be exclusively available for sale at this event, ahead of its official release.

Atmospheres is a London-based festival featuring Touch artists and occasionally a guest or two. The first two were held at The Bedford Arms & The Museum of Garden History in 2007 and 2008.

Buy tickets in the TouchShop
Atmospheres 3 microsite

LCO perform Biosphere | Roundhouse, London, 23rd January 2010

On 23rd January 2010, the London Contemporary Orchestra, one of the UK's youngest and most adventurous ensembles, make their Roundhouse debut. "Shhoctavoski" is the first piece for orchestra that Biosphere, aka Geir Jenssen has composed and is given here its UK premiere with the Roundhouse Experimental Choir.

The same evening sees London Contemporary Orchestra also perform the world premiere of Shiva Feshareki's "TTKonzert" (a concerto for turntables and orchestra), alongside performances of Steve Reich's "Different Trains" and the UK premiere of John Cage's "Seventy-Four".

These performances are part of the Roundhouse's Reverb series, which "explores the many sides of music at the Roundhouse through world and UK premieres, genre-defying performances, fresh collaborations and a new approach to classical music."

More info and tickets at

TTW#07 - Souls on Board

Cassette only - limited edition of 250 copies

Track listing:
Sun Down - 1: The Waiting Room, 2: Hole - with Bruce Gilbert, 3: Roulette
Moon Up - 1: Don't Go Away, 2: The Janitor Announces the Night - with Daniel Menche.

This is the debut release by the mysterious Souls on Board, featuring Bruce Gilbert and Daniel Menche guesting on a track each... Each side is seventeen minutes forty five seconds long. Recorded in Tangiers, Mallorca, London, Lisbon, Lanzarote and other unknown locations.

Buy Souls on Board in the TouchShop
Release details on

TTW#08 - Meltaot "First and Second Rites"

Cassette only - limited edition of 250 copies

Track listing:
A: First Rite - 11m42s
B: Second Rite - 7m46s

Meltaot are a bass heavy improvised Noise duo made up of artist/musician/broadcaster Sharon Gal and artist/writer/musician SavX. After recording together at a session for Pestrepeller (the other band they are a part of) it was decided to take the project one step further and record as a separate entity.

Although Black Metal, Drone and Doom would seem to be at the core of what Meltaot are involved with here, the real intention was to paint a series of atmospheric sound pictures (not all of them dark) using voice, bass guitar and other instrumentation/effects as their materials.

Buy Meltaot "First and Second Rites" in the TouchShop
Release details on

TTW#09 - Baraclough - "The Lampshade is not a Past Tense"

Cassette only - limited edition of 250 copies

Track listing:
1: Fire Exit Interior - 14m57s
2: Your Physical Health - 14m32s
3: What We Did and Didn't - 15m24s

Baraclough are a London-based trio consisting of a classically-trained musician, a self-taught musician, and a non-musician.

With a distinctive palette of woozy electronics, raw and processed recordings, combined with vocals and abstract sounds, Baraclough produce a unique aural aesthetic that is hypnotic yet agitating, intimate yet awkward.

Since their inception in 2006, Baraclough have performed in a variety of bizarre locations such as a Kilburn rock pub and a former Turner Prize winner's stock cupboard. Baraclough recently released their debut album 'Hello Animal' on Forris, their audio publishing cooperative.

Buy Baraclough - "The Lampshade is not a Past Tense" in the TouchShop
Release details on

TTW#10 - E-Man

Cassette only - limited edition of 350 copies

Track listing:
A1: The Difference
A2: De Du Da Da Di
A3: Upland I
A4: Visjoner
A5: Upland II
A6: Great Nations
A7: Hosono
B1: Jeg Er Moderne
B2: Upland III
B3: Nibsy the Newsboy
B4: Heaven & Hell
B5: The Mission
B6: Upland IV
B7: De Du Da Da Di (Original)

E-Man was the first apparition of Geir Jenssen - these days better known as Biosphere. This tape, originally released in 1984 on Likvidér # LIKV 4025, features contributions from Per Martinsen (Mental Overdrive) and Nils Johansen (Bel Canto).

All tracks recorded on a Teac 4-track cassette recorder at Elverhoy Studenthjem, Tromso and Nord-Norsk Studenthjem, Oslo, Norway between 1983-1984.

Buy E-Man in the TouchShop
Release details on


New in stock: Leif Elggren's brand new DVD release on Errant Bodies Records, and CM von Hausswolff's "Topophonic Models" - Hausswolff's third CD focusing on architecture, urbanism etc...

Leif Elggren - Death Travels Backwards

Leif Elggren - Death Travels Backwards [DVD]

CM von Hausswolff - Topophonic Models

CM von Hausswolff - Topophonic Models [CD]

The previous Touch NewsLetter can be found here.